Forethought provides AI customer service software through customized enterprise pricing. Its published plans include Team, Professional, and Enterprise, with a commercial model combining platform access fees and outcome-based charges. Since Zendesk acquired Forethought in March 2026, the platform is also available through Zendesk's AI product ecosystem.
Although Forethought does not publish fixed subscription rates, its plan details and independent software reviews provide useful information about pricing and value. This article examines Forethought's pricing structure, available plans, implementation requirements, and total cost of ownership.
Key Takeaways
- Forethought uses custom enterprise pricing: Its commercial model combines platform access fees with outcome-based charges, while Team, Professional, and Enterprise plans require individual quotes
- Plan selection influences costs: Team covers chat and mobile, Professional adds email, voice, and Slack, and Enterprise includes additional APIs and governance capabilities
- Usage and add-ons affect total spending: Outcome-based charges, communication channels, optional capabilities, and implementation requirements contribute to overall costs
- Zendesk acquired Forethought in March 2026: The acquisition expanded Zendesk's AI agent offerings while Forethought's public website continues to display its three pricing tiers
- Maven AGI connects AI spending with measurable service outcomes: Its AI Agent Platform supports autonomous resolution and human-agent assistance, with customer case studies documenting operational improvements
How Much Does Forethought Cost in 2026?
Forethought does not publish fixed monthly or annual prices for its three plans. Instead, its pricing page describes a customized commercial model combining platform access fees, outcome-based charges, and optional add-ons.
The total contract amount depends on the selected capabilities, usage commitments, and enterprise deployment requirements.
What Capterra Reports About Forethought Pricing
According to Capterra's Forethought profile, Forethought uses contact-for-pricing arrangements rather than a publicly listed starting price.
Capterra also reports the following customer feedback:
- Overall rating: 4.5 out of 5, based on 11 reviews
- Value for money: 4.6 out of 5, based on seven ratings
- Ease of use: 4.5 out of 5, based on 11 ratings
- Customer service: 4.7 out of 5, based on nine ratings
These are reviewer assessments rather than independently measured financial outcomes. The relatively small number of reviews also limits how broadly the scores can be generalized.
Capterra's pricing information confirms Forethought's quote-based approach but does not establish a median annual contract value or a standard enterprise subscription fee.
What Determines Forethought's Contract Price?
Forethought's enterprise pricing depends on the scope of the intended deployment.
Relevant factors include:
- Plan selection: Team, Professional, or Enterprise capabilities
- Platform access: The functions and services covered by the agreement
- Outcome-based usage: Qualifying outcomes measured under the contract
- Channel coverage: Chat, mobile, email, voice, and Slack
- Optional add-ons: Additional brand management, analytics, or knowledge capabilities
- Enterprise integrations: Connections to helpdesks and business applications
- Implementation scope: Configuration, testing, and workflow preparation
These factors determine the commercial requirements of an individual deployment.
Forethought Pricing Plans Explained
Forethought organizes its capabilities into three published tiers. All three require customized pricing.
Each successive plan includes the capabilities of the preceding tier while adding supported channels, management tools, or enterprise functionality.
Team Plan
The Team plan provides AI automation for customer support through chat and mobile channels.
Its published capabilities include:
- AI agents for chat and mobile
- Autoflows for customer service automation
- Custom actions
- Customer satisfaction collection
- Insights dashboard
- Ready-to-use ticket triage models
- Multilingual support
- AI quality assurance
The plan combines customer-facing automation with ticket classification, reporting, and quality monitoring.
Its subscription cost depends on the agreed platform access and outcome-based usage terms.
Professional Plan
The Professional plan includes Team capabilities and extends support to additional communication channels.
Added features include:
- AI agents for email, voice, and Slack
- AI-surfaced operational insights
- Multi-brand management
- Custom handoff models
These capabilities support deployments involving several customer service channels and more detailed workflow management.
The broader technical scope can influence implementation requirements, including telephony connectivity, email automation, and escalation configuration.
Enterprise Plan
The Enterprise plan includes Professional capabilities and adds API, knowledge management, and governance functionality.
Its published features include:
- Solve API
- Knowledge gap detection and AI article creation
- Autoflow gap detection and generation
- Analytics API
- Enterprise security and governance controls
These capabilities support organizations managing automation across multiple applications and customer service processes.
Configuration requirements depend on the APIs, workflows, and operational controls involved.
Optional Add-Ons
Forethought also lists separately configurable capabilities on its pricing page.
These include:
- Multibrand: Managing different branded AI experiences from a shared environment
- Analytics API: Accessing conversation-level data and operational metrics through an API
- Discover: Identifying knowledge gaps and opportunities for additional automation
Some of these capabilities overlap with features listed under higher subscription tiers. Their inclusion and commercial treatment depend on the selected package and agreement.
How Forethought's Pricing Model Works
Forethought describes its commercial approach as a combination of platform access fees and outcome-based pricing.
The two components connect spending with software access and qualifying customer service activity.
Platform Access Fees
Platform access fees cover the capabilities included in the selected Forethought plan.
The cost depends on the subscription scope and applicable commercial terms. Additional services or capabilities may form part of the agreement.
Forethought does not disclose a universal access fee for Team, Professional, or Enterprise.
Outcome-Based Charges
Forethought also charges based on outcomes defined within its commercial agreements.
This approach connects a portion of spending with the qualifying activities or results covered by the contract.
Forethought's public pricing page does not publish a standard per-resolution rate or a universal definition of every billable outcome.
That distinction matters because an AI-handled conversation, a deflected inquiry, and a completed customer request can represent different measurements.
The applicable agreement defines the activities used for billing.
Additional Usage Charges
Forethought's published pricing information states that additional usage charges may apply when consumption exceeds the plan's purchased limits or volume.
The cost implications depend on contracted allowances, usage patterns, and commercial terms.
For example, an organization operating AI agents across chat, email, and voice may generate different volumes of qualifying activity than one using chat alone.
These considerations affect how total spending changes as customer service demand grows.
Proof of Value Evaluation
Forethought offers a Proof of Value (POV) process rather than a conventional self-service free trial.
The evaluation uses customer information and configured workflows to demonstrate the platform within a relevant service environment.
Capterra labels Forethought as having a trial available, while Forethought's own pricing materials describe the guided POV format.
The published information does not establish a universal trial duration or a standardized evaluation fee.
What Affects Forethought's Total Cost of Ownership?
Forethought's total cost of ownership extends beyond its platform access fees and outcome-based charges.
Implementation, business-system integrations, channel requirements, and ongoing management also contribute to operating expenses.
1. Support Volume and Usage Requirements
Forethought processes customer service interactions across supported channels.
The number of qualifying outcomes influences spending under its usage-based commercial arrangements.
Support demand may vary according to customer growth, seasonal activity, product releases, and additional communication channels.
Historical ticket volumes can help organizations estimate the scale of automation required, while contract terms determine how that usage affects spending.
Forethought's publicly available pricing information does not establish a universal ticket minimum that applies to every plan.
2. Implementation and System Integrations
Forethought connects with established customer service platforms and enterprise knowledge sources.
Deployment may involve connecting ticket histories, configuring knowledge access, establishing automated workflows, and testing agent behavior.
The work required depends on existing infrastructure and the intended scope of automation.
Capterra lists Forethought's available training and support formats, including documentation, webinars, live online training, and implementation assistance. These describe onboarding resources rather than a guaranteed deployment timeline.
3. Communication Channels
Forethought's plan structure distinguishes between supported customer service channels.
Team includes chat and mobile. Professional adds email, voice, and Slack. Enterprise expands API and management functionality.
Channel requirements can affect implementation through website integration, voice connectivity, routing, and escalation workflows.
A deployment supporting several channels may involve additional configuration and operational management.
4. AI Agent Configuration and Maintenance
Forethought provides several AI capabilities for different customer service functions:
- Solve: Customer-facing AI for resolving inquiries
- Triage: Ticket classification and routing
- Assist: Real-time assistance for human support professionals
- Discover: Knowledge and automation insights
- Agent QA: Quality monitoring and evaluation
The features available depend on the subscribed plan and relevant add-ons.
Ongoing operations can involve updating knowledge, reviewing conversations, refining workflows, and analyzing customer service outcomes.
These activities influence the resources needed to maintain an AI customer service deployment.
5. Security and Governance
Enterprise AI agents process customer information and may execute authorized actions through connected systems.
Operational requirements can include permissions, data protection, monitoring, and governance controls.
The NIST AI Risk Management Framework provides guidance on managing AI-related risks throughout system deployment and operation.
Security requirements can influence implementation planning and the ongoing processes used to manage enterprise automation.
How Zendesk's Acquisition Affects Forethought
Zendesk announced its agreement to acquire Forethought in March 2026 and completed the transaction on March 26, 2026.
TechCrunch's acquisition coverage reported the initial announcement on March 11, 2026. The article also noted that the transaction's financial terms were not disclosed.
The acquisition brought Forethought's AI agent technology into Zendesk's customer service product portfolio.
Product Availability Following the Acquisition
Forethought's capabilities are offered as Forethought AI Agents by Zendesk.
Zendesk has also stated that the technology supports customer service workflows across Zendesk and other service platforms.
Forethought's public website continues to describe Team, Professional, and Enterprise plans with customized pricing.
These details establish the platform's current product positioning and purchasing structure without implying that all existing agreements have changed.
What the Acquisition Means for Pricing
The acquisition changed Forethought's ownership and expanded how its AI agents are distributed.
However, the publicly available announcements do not establish a universal change to Forethought's subscription fees or outcome-based pricing rates.
Forethought's published plan information remains a reference for available capabilities, while individual agreements determine actual commercial costs.
The acquisition itself does not provide a verified basis for estimating a new standard annual contract value.
How to Measure Forethought's Cost and ROI
Forethought's platform access and outcome-based billing determine the commercial cost of its services.
The value of the deployment depends on customer service outcomes and the resources required to operate the platform.
Cost per Autonomous Resolution
A useful measure connects attributable AI spending with successfully completed customer requests.
Cost per autonomous resolution = Total attributable AI spending ÷ Confirmed autonomous resolutions
Attributable spending may include platform fees, outcome-based charges, implementation, integrations, and ongoing management.
The calculation requires a consistent definition of autonomous resolution, separate from other metrics such as conversation volume or deflection.
The FinOps Foundation's unit economics guidance explains how technology costs can be related to measurable business activity, including cost per transaction or case resolved.
Additional ROI Measures
Organizations can also assess:
- Autonomous resolution rate: Percentage of eligible requests completed through AI
- Customer satisfaction: Feedback reflecting service quality
- First-contact resolution: Issues resolved during the initial interaction
- Escalation rate: Share of conversations requiring human assistance
- Agent productivity: Changes in the efficiency of human support teams
- Repeat contacts: Customers returning with the same unresolved issue
These metrics provide context for the contracted services and actual usage.
They also distinguish the financial value of completed customer requests from the volume of automated conversations.
First-Year and Ongoing Costs
First-year spending may include implementation, system connections, knowledge preparation, and initial workflow testing.
Ongoing expenses may involve platform usage, configuration updates, knowledge maintenance, and performance monitoring.
Separating one-time deployment work from recurring operating costs helps organizations assess how AI service spending changes over time.
How Maven AGI Supports Cost Efficiency Through Autonomous Resolution
Maven AGI provides an enterprise AI agent platform focused on completing customer requests through connected knowledge, business policies, and system actions.
Its unified reasoning engine operates across chat, email, voice, messaging, and additional channels while integrating with existing customer service infrastructure.
For enterprises evaluating AI support spending, Maven connects autonomous resolution with measurable service outcomes, operational visibility, and human-agent assistance.
Documented Customer Results
Maven's published customer stories demonstrate different aspects of customer service performance:
- Papaya Pay: 90% of chat inquiries answered autonomously, a 70% first-contact resolution rate, and a 50% reduction in cost per ticket
- ClickUp: 25% increase in representative solves per hour within one week of introducing Maven's agent-assistance capabilities
- K1x: 80% of tickets resolved by Agent Maven, almost always in under three minutes
These customer-specific figures illustrate how autonomous resolution and agent assistance can contribute to customer service efficiency.
Connected Workflows and Human-Agent Collaboration
Maven's integration ecosystem connects AI agents with existing helpdesks, CRM systems, knowledge repositories, and enterprise applications.
Agents retrieve relevant information, apply business policies, and complete supported actions across connected systems.
Automating repetitive inquiries extends support capacity across nights, weekends, holidays, and periods of increased demand.
When a request needs human judgment, Maven provides support professionals with:
- Customer information and conversation history
- A summary of the issue
- Relevant documentation and account context
- Actions already attempted
- Recommended next steps
Human teams can then concentrate on complex troubleshooting, sensitive conversations, customer relationships, and service improvements.
Enterprise Governance and Continuous Improvement
Maven's security and compliance program includes ISO 27001 and ISO 42001 certifications, a SOC 2 Type II audit, PCI DSS Level 1 service-provider validation, and independent privacy-related assessments.
Its Agent Designer supports agent configuration, simulation, testing, and workflow refinement.
Maven also provides connected knowledge management and performance analytics, helping customer experience teams identify recurring support issues and improve automated workflows.
For enterprises assessing AI customer service costs, Maven AGI connects autonomous resolution, human-agent collaboration, and operational visibility within a unified platform.
Book a demo to explore Maven's enterprise AI agent capabilities.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Forethought cost in 2026?
Forethought uses customized enterprise pricing for its Team, Professional, and Enterprise plans. Its published commercial model combines platform access fees with outcome-based charges, and additional usage or add-ons may affect the total. Capterra independently confirms that Forethought does not display a standard starting price on its profile.
What does Capterra report about Forethought's pricing?
Capterra lists Forethought as a contact-for-pricing product. It reports a 4.5/5 overall rating from 11 reviews and a 4.6/5 value-for-money score from seven ratings. These figures represent a small review sample and do not establish typical annual contract costs.
What is included in Forethought's three pricing plans?
Team includes AI agents for chat and mobile, ticket triage, and quality monitoring. Professional adds email, voice, Slack, and additional management capabilities. Enterprise includes further APIs, knowledge management, automation insights, and governance features. All three plans use customized pricing.
Does Forethought offer a free trial?
Forethought offers a guided Proof of Value engagement rather than a conventional self-service trial. The process uses customer data and configured workflows to demonstrate the platform. Its public pricing materials do not specify a universal evaluation duration or standardized fee.
Did Zendesk acquire Forethought?
Yes. Zendesk completed its acquisition of Forethought on March 26, 2026. Forethought AI Agents by Zendesk are offered within Zendesk's broader AI service portfolio. Forethought's public website continues to display its Team, Professional, and Enterprise plans.
How does Maven AGI support measurable customer service outcomes?
Maven AGI combines autonomous workflow execution, connected enterprise knowledge, and human-agent assistance. Its published customer results include Papaya Pay's 50% reduction in cost per ticket, ClickUp's 25% increase in representative solves per hour, and K1x's 80% ticket-resolution rate. These examples demonstrate how Maven supports service efficiency and customer support capacity.
Table of contents
You might also be interested in
Don’t be Shy.
Make the first move.
Request a free personalized demo.
